(Tuesday, March 13th) New Philadelphia, Ohio – Buckeye Career Center students are heading to a national competition for the Business Professionals of America.

Fifteen students recently placed in the top 3 during the state leadership conference.  Six individuals and 2 teams will have the opportunity to represent their school in May.

Buckeye Public Relations Coordinator Shyanne Carroll says the school has three programs that compete.

“Here at Buckeye, we have one program on campus and that’s computer technology/network systems; but we also have the Garaway Business Program that we operate out of Garaway High School. Their students are able to enroll in that and then we also have our Buckeye Business Academy which is at the East Holmes Campus and now we have many who have qualified for nationals.”

Students who qualified for the national competition will travel to Dallas, Texas, May 9-13.

“Buckeye takes care of that for them they’ll get to go and experience Dallas, Texas; spend a few days there exploring while they’re also competing, so we’re really excited for our students.”

The BCC East Holmes Chapter was one of seven chapters in Ohio to earn the BPA Chapter Activities Award of Excellence.


National qualifiers include:

Buckeye Career Center Computer Technology/Network Systems students Alex Mann (Claymont) – 4th place in System Administration with Microsoft and Zane Robertson (New Philadelphia), Aaron Albaugh (New Philadelphia), and Sydney Sinkovich (New Philadelphia) – 2nd place Network Design Team. Garaway Business Program qualifiers include: Peyton Miller – 3rd in Payroll Accounting; Karson Schrock – 4th in Payroll Accounting; and Bethany Rider – 4th in Banking and Finance.

Buckeye Business Academy East Holmes Campus qualifiers include: Josh Garber, Thomas Troyer, Micah Troyer, Kerri Miller, Mary Beth Mullet, Anson Troyer, Treva Beachy, and Joshua Yoder – 1st place Parliamentary Procedure Team.

Students who placed in the top 10:

BCC Computer Technology/Network Systems: Tristan Steinbach (Indian Valley) – Cisco Systems; William Abel (Dover)- Computer Security; and Robert Dotson (Garaway) – Computer Security. Buckeye Business Academy East Holmes Campus: Josiah Miller, Caleb Miller, Abe Hershberger, and Chris Miller – Top 10 in Small Business Management Team; Grace Miller – Top 10 in Administrative Support Concepts; Joshua Yoder and Josh Garber – Top 10 in Business Meeting Management Concepts; Treva Beachy, Josh Garber, Micah Troyer, Thomas Troyer, and Joshua Yoder – Top 10 in Parliamentary Procedure Concepts; and Josh Garber – Ohio BPA Merit Scholar Top 10.

Statesman level Torch Awards from BCC East Holmes Campus:

Rachel Weaver, Annie Shetler, Karlin Yoder, Diane Sclabach, Chris Miller, Josiah Miller, Treva Beachy, Micah Troyer, Thomas Troyer, Mary Beth Mullet, Josh Garber, and Joshua Yoder.

(Photos: ParliProTeam (top) and Garaway Participants)

Copyright WTUZ Radio Inc., 2018