Nick McWilliams reporting – The United Way of Tuscarawas County recognized community leaders and members for their work and dedication Thursday at the Union Country Club.

As part of their annual luncheon, the organization also announced their fundraising total for the last year, totaling over $586,000.

The Vic Marsh Annual Service Award was presented to Scott Robinson, President of the Tuscarawas County Chamber of Commerce and former United Way President.

Robinson thanked all in attendance for the recognition, as well as offering a reminder of why organizations like United Way are vital to community success.

“Trust me, there’s no greater feeling than to know you provided a safety net of services to those who needed them. That you helped students succeed in school, and that families have food on the dinner table. It was a very rewarding part of my life.”

Robinson remains active in the community, serving as a board member for the Dennison Depot Museum, Tuscarawas County Convention and Visitors Bureau and others.

As a part of the event, former Board Chair Orvis Campbell handed the gavel over to Gail Houglan, who will be succeeding him in the role.

CEO and President Robin Waltz and Community Resources Coordinator Susan Reidenbach thanked everyone for their efforts, and reminded residents of the importance of giving back.

Award Recipients

Leadership Circle Awards: Allied Machine & Engineering, AEP Ohio, Century National Bank, Cleveland Clinic Union Hospital, Complete Hydraulic Service, Dominion Energy, Dover Chemical, Dover Hydraulics, Inc., DoverPhila Federal Credit Union, Family Office Equipment, Fenton Brothers’ Electric Company, First Federal Community Bank, First National Bank of Dennison, Gradall, Huntington National Bank, Inca Presswood Pallets, L.J. Smith, Inc., Lovett & Co., McInturf Realty, Northern Ohio Peterbilt/Ohio CAT, Parkway Auto Group, Rea & Associates, R & J Cylinder & Machine, Society for Equal Access, I.L.C., Superior Clay, Troyer & Associates, Tusco Display, United Parcel Service, and Zimmer Biomet.

President’s Awards: AAA of Tuscarawas County, Allied Machine & Engineering, Baltic State Bank, Barbour Publishing, Buckeye Career Center, Century National Bank, Claymont City School District, Dover Chemical, Dover Hydraulics, Inc., East Central Ohio Educational Service Center, First Federal Community Bank,  First National Bank of Dennison, Garaway Local Schools, Gradall, Harcatus C.A.O, Investment Partners, McInturf Realty, Mobile Meals of Dover-New Philadelphia, Inc., Parkway Auto Group, R& J Cylinder and Machine, The Commercial & Savings Bank, Trinity Hospital Twin City, Tuscarawas County Chamber of Commerce, Tuscarawas County Clerk of Courts, Tuscarawas County Job & Family Services, , Tuscarawas County Y.M.C.A., Tuscarawas Valley Local Schools, Whitemyer Advertising, and Walmart Store #2115.

The Pioneer Award: Crane Carrier Company and Freeport Press.

The DoverPhila Federal Credit Union was recognized for their corporate sponsorship of TRUCKFEST and the United Way Rock-N-Run 5K/10K, First National Bank of Dennison for the Day of Caring, Firefighter Field Day and Dover & New Philadelphia Schools for Rivals United.

Outstanding Media Contribution Awards: The Budget, The Tuscarawas Bargain Hunter, The Times Reporter, Tusco TV, WJER Radio, and WTUZ Radio.

Community Outreach: DoverPhila Federal Credit Union, OhioMeansJobs Tuscarawas, Tuscarawas County Health Department and Tuscarawas County Juvenile Court. The local Wendy’s restaurants were recipients of the Community Impact Award for the Live Here Give Here program benefiting the United Way of Tuscarawas County. 

Copyright WTUZ Radio Inc., 2020