Nick McWilliams reporting – The Ohio Department of Commerce Division of State Fire Marshal has awarded $3.5 million to 325 fire departments in the state.

The Multi-Agency Radio Communications Systems grants for 2023 provide funding for the state-of-the-art radio system for first responders.

In Carroll County, the Sherrodsville and Leesville Volunteer Fire Departments received $1,920 and $1,680 respectively.

Coshocton departments FCV, West Lafayette, three Rivers, and Jackson Township received $960, while the Walhonding Valley Fire District was awarded $1,440.

In Guernsey County, the Old Washington Volunteer Department has received over $8,200 with the grant, along with $2,880 for Cambridge and $2,160 to the Cassell Station Fire Department.

Deersville, Freeport, and Scio will all receive over $1,400 in Harrison County.

Holmes County saw much larger totals, with nearly $50,000 awarded to Richland Township, Holmes Fire District No. 1, the West Holmes County Fire Department, East Holmes Fire and EMS, and Prairie Township. Paint Township Volunteer is earmarked for over $15,000.

York Township was the lone recipient this cycle of grants in Tuscarawas County, and received $1,800.

The grants are applicable to departments with service areas of less than 25,000 people, with the max award being $50,000.

Copyright WTUZ Radio Inc., 2022