Courtesy of Pixabay

Nick McWilliams reporting – Approximately $35 million in retention incentives will be given out to 309 agencies in Ohio to help keep first responders.

Those grants come from Ohio Governor Mike DeWine’s office, and are set to benefit over 10,000 law enforcement officials, firefighters, and EMS providers.

In Tuscarawas County, the Dover Police and Fire Departments have been selected for $184,000 for their staff of 46 first responders.

Elsewhere, Tri-County Joint Ambulance District will receive just over $43,000 for 23 staff members.

The Carroll County Sheriff will receive $145,000 for 37 members, and the Carrollton Police Department has been marked for $24,000 for six responders.

The Harrison County Sheriff’s Office is on the list for over $100,000 for 27 members. Coshocton County EMS has 48 staff members who are included in their own $157,000 distribution.

The goal of the Ohio first Responder Recruitment, Retention, and Resilience Program is to provide funding for initiatives and programs that support mental, physical, and emotional health, as well as restoring workforce levels and cover training costs.

The Toledo Fire Department was selected for the highest amount at over $2.2 million to serve a current staff of 552, followed by Akron Fire at $1.3 million.

Copyright WTUZ Radio Inc., 2023